Don't Let One Mistake Ruin Your Life

Don't Let One Mistake Ruin Your Life

Consult an experienced DUI attorney in Las Cruces, NM or El Paso, TX

Did you know that driving while intoxicated is one of the most heavily prosecuted crimes in New Mexico? If you need a DUI attorney in Las Cruces, NM or El Paso, TX, turn to the legal team at the Montrose Law Firm. After years of working as DWI defense attorneys, we know how to handle your case. We'll review the facts and help you work toward the best possible outcome.

Call today to make an appointment.

We'll fight tirelessly to protect your rights

As soon as you saw the flashing lights in your rearview mirror, you knew you were in trouble. Instead of facing the legal system alone, you should hire a skilled DWI defense attorney to prepare a convincing defense strategy.

Look no further than the knowledgeable team at the Montrose Law Firm. We know that the courts want to make examples of people charged with driving while intoxicated, and we won't hold anything back as we fight for your rights.

Call now to speak with a DUI attorney in Las Cruces, NM or El Paso, TX. We're standing by to help.

What Are The New Mexico Blood Alcohol Limits?


◉ Drivers who are under 21 years old exceed the legal blood alcohol limit at .02 or higher.

◉ Drivers 21 years old and older are legally drunk with a blood alcohol level of .08 or greater.

◉ Commercial drivers violate DWI laws when they operate a vehicle with a blood alcohol level of .04 or higher.

What Is An Aggravated DWI?


A person is charged with aggravated DWI/DUI if:

◉ Driver has a blood alcohol level of .16 or higher

◉ Driver caused bodily injury to another person as a result of driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs

◉ Driver refuses to engage in chemical testing and it is determined that the driver was under the influence of drugs or alcohol based on the evidence, in accordance with the Implied Consent Act.

What Should I Do If I Get Arrested For A DWI?


Request to speak with an attorney before making a statement to the police. Any statements given to the police can be used against you in a court of law. Having legal representation is a right. Information given to the police without the advice of an attorney may be harmful to the outcome of the case.

What If I Refuse To Take A Chemical Test?


According to New Mexico's Implied Consent Law, a person driving a vehicle within the state automatically consents to having their blood alcohol level tested in order to assess if they are driving while intoxicated. Not taking the test could result in being charged with aggravated DWI and having the driver's license revoked for 1 year.

What Happens After I Get Arrested?


The case will be presented to criminal court and the New Mexico Motor Vehicle Department. If the driver enters a not guilty plea in the criminal case, evidence is gathered, a trial takes place and the court or jury either reaches a verdict or the driver enters a plea agreement. Submit a request for an administrative hearing for the Motor Vehicle Department case if you want to prevent the driver's license from being automatically revoked.

What Is An Ignition Interlock Device?


The ignition interlock device measures a person's alcohol level and is installed in the driver's vehicle. The driver must blow into the device before he can drive. If the alcohol level exceeds the limit set on the device, the vehicle won't start. Drivers convicted of a DWI must use the device for at least 1 year; usually on any car they drive even a demonstration at a car dealership.

What Are The Penalties For A DWI Conviction?


Penalties for DWI include rehabilitation, community service, and alcohol screenings. Other penalties are jail time, monetary fines, getting the license revoked and installation of the ignition interlock device in the car when the person is permitted to drive again. The terms of the punishment differ for each person depending on the set of facts for each case and the amount of prior offenses on the driver's criminal record.